



## EPA's Local Government Advisory Committee Meeting May 2-3, 2019

### Thursday, May 2, 2019

Conference Room 1153 EPA William Jefferson Clinton East Building 1201 Constitution Avenue NW Washington, DC 20460

### Meeting Agenda

9:30 a.m10:00 a.m.	<ul> <li>Local Government Advisory Committee- Welcome and Call to Order</li> <li>Bob Dixson, Chairman Greensburg, Kansas</li> <li>Secretary Jeff Witte, Vice-Chairman New Mexico Department of Agriculture</li> </ul>
10:00 a.m10:15 a.m.	<ul> <li>EPA Opening Remarks</li> <li>Troy Lyons, Associate Administrator, EPA's Office of Congressional and Intergovernmental Relations (OCIR)</li> </ul>
10:15 a.m10:45 a.m.	<ul> <li>EPA and the Corps of Engineers: Leading the Way in Intergovernmental Cooperation</li> <li>Lee Forsgren, Deputy Assistant Administrator EPA's Office of Water</li> <li>Ryan Fisher, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary (Civil Works) Department of the Army</li> </ul>
10:45 a.m 11:10 a.m.	<ul><li>EPA's Budget Update</li><li>Holly Greaves, <i>Chief Financial Officer</i></li></ul>
11:10 a.m11:20 a.m.	Break



11:20 a.m1:15 p.m.	Working Lunch Intergovernmental Panel Topic: Communicating Risk: Improving Federal, State, Local and Tribal Coordination
	Moderator: Britt Carter, Director, Intergovernmental Relations EPA's Office of Congressional and Intergovernmental Relations
	Keynote: Doug Hoelscher, Deputy Assistant to the President and Director of the White House Office of Intergovernmental Affairs
	<ul> <li>Andrea Drinkard, EPA's Risk Communications Workgroup Senior Advisor, Office of Public Affairs</li> <li>Richard F. Anderson, Ph.D., Energy Director and Senior Advisor Mayors' Water Council, U.S. Conference of Mayors (USCM)</li> <li>Julie Ufner, Associate Legislative Director National Association of Counties (NACo)</li> <li>Carolyn Berndt, Sustainability Director National League of Cities (NLC)</li> <li>Dr. Chelsea Gridley-Smith, Director of Environmental Health National Association of City and County Health Officials (NACCHO)</li> <li>Alan Roberson, Executive Director, Association of State Drinking Water Administrators (ASDWA)</li> </ul>
1:15 p.m1:20 p.m.	Break
1:20 p.m 3:30 p.m.	<ul> <li>EPA's Acting Deputy Administrator and Assistant Administrators</li> <li>Henry Darwin, Acting Deputy Administrator</li> <li>Clint Woods, Deputy Assistant Administrator Office of Air and Radiation (OAR)</li> <li>Alexandra Dunn, Assistant Administrator Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention (OCSPP)</li> <li>Barry Breen, Acting Assistant Administrator</li> </ul>

- Office of Land and Emergency Management (OLEM)
  Peter Wright, Special Counsel to the Administrator
- Office of Land and Emergency Management



	<ul> <li>Susan Bodine, Assistant Administrator Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance</li> <li>David Ross, Assistant Administrator, Office of Water (OW)</li> </ul>
3:30 p.m3:35 p.m.	Break
3:35 p.m4:35 p.m.	<ul> <li><u>Water Workgroup</u></li> <li>Susan Hann, <i>Chair</i> Brevard County School District, Florida</li> <li>Mayor Elizabeth Kautz, Vice-Chair Burnsville, Minnesota</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Bee Branch Creek Restoration and Flood Mitigation Project</li> <li>Teri Goodman, Assistant City Manager Dubuque, Iowa</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Waters of the United States (WOTUS)</li> <li>Owen McDonough, Ph.D. Senior Science Advisor to EPA's Assistant Administrator of Water</li> </ul>
	Workgroup Discussion
4:35 p.m5:35 p.m.	<ul> <li>Revitalizing Communities Workgroup         <ul> <li>Dr. Hector Gonzalez, Vice-Chair Director, Department of Health Laredo, Texas</li> </ul> </li> <li>EPA's Superfund Taskforce         <ul> <li>Veronica Darwin, Senior Advisor Office of the Administrator</li> <li>Ellen Manges, Acting Deputy Director Office of Communications, Partnerships and Analysis</li> </ul> </li> </ul>
	Office of Land and Emergency Response (OLEM)

3

EPA's Brownfields Program Update
David R. Lloyd, Director Office of Brownfields and Land Revitalization





# Discussion on Revitalizing Communities Charge

5:35 p.m6:00 p.m.	<ul><li>Executive Committee</li><li>Bob Dixson, <i>Chair</i></li></ul>
<u>Friday, May 3, 2019</u>	Small Community Advisory Subcommittee (SCAS) Meeting
8:00 a.m8:05 a.m.	<ul> <li>Welcome and Call to Order</li> <li>Commissioner Dr. Robert Cope, DVM, <i>Chair</i> <i>Planning Commission, Salmon, Idaho</i></li> <li>County Administrator Brian Fulton, <i>Vice-Chair</i> <i>Jackson County, Mississippi</i></li> </ul>
8:05 a.m8:25 a.m.	<ul> <li>EPA Remarks</li> <li>Tate Bennett, Agricultural Advisor to the Administrator and Associate Administrator for Public Engagement and Environmental Education (Invited)</li> </ul>
8:25 a.m8:30 a.m.	<ul> <li>Revitalizing Communities</li> <li>Chitra Kumar, Director, Director, Federal and State Division EPA's Office of Community Revitalization (ORC)</li> </ul>
8:30 a.m8:40 a.m.	Public Comment Period
8:40 a.m8:58 a.m.	SCAS Business Meeting
8:58 a.m9:00 a.m.	<ul> <li>Wrap-Up/Next Steps</li> <li>Commissioner Dr. Robert Cope, DVM, <i>Chair</i></li> </ul>
9:00 a.m.	SCAS Adjourns



9:00 a.m10:00 a.m.	<ul> <li>Air Workgroup</li> <li>Commissioner Kitty Barnes, <i>Chair</i></li> <li>Commissioner Libby Szabo, <i>Vice-Chair Jefferson County, Colorado</i></li> </ul>
	Office of Air Update <ul> <li><i>TBD</i></li> </ul>
	Workgroup Discussion
10:00 a.m10:15 a.m.	Break
	Local Government Advisory Committee (LGAC) Meeting
// 10:15 a.m10:20 a.m.	<ul><li>LGAC Meeting- Call to Order</li><li>Bob Dixson, <i>Chair of LGAC</i></li></ul>
10:20 a.m10:30 a.m.	Public Comments
10:30 a.m12:15 p.m.	<ul> <li>LGAC Business Meeting</li> <li>SCAS and Workgroup Report-Out</li> <li>LGAC Action Items</li> </ul>
12:15 p.m12:25 p.m.	<ul> <li>Concluding Remarks</li> <li>Troy Lyons, Associate Administrator, OCIR</li> <li>Robin Richardson, Principal Deputy Associate Administrator, OCIR</li> <li>Britt Carter, Director, Intergovernmental Relations, OCIR</li> </ul>
12:25 p.m 12:30 p.m.	<ul><li>Wrap Up and Next Steps</li><li>Bob Dixson, <i>Chairman</i></li></ul>
12:30 p.m.	Adjourn